Monday, December 8, 2008

Lovely Live Album

Justice - A Cross The Universe (Ed Banger)

After nearly 2 years of filling the world's electro-lover's ears. The French duo have released this live album. When I first saw this album mentioned on 'The Lemur Blog', I thought to myself, "Aw no, not another attempt to make just a bit more money". Because at this stage, I think almost everybody is a bit sick of the pair.
But I was clearly intrigued, so I downloaded it. And to my surprise, I was instantly impressed. Even though I had seen this exact live show a few times. It sounds great recorded. It opens up with a self remix of probably their coolest track 'Genesis' and mixes nicely, using their steam-like sounds into 'Phantom Part 1'. Also when you realize what track is coming in, the crowd realize at that same moment and let a huge roar, which for me, gives me a tingle down my spine. On this album Justice were not afraid to admit and use two remixes of their songs, using Mstrfkrft's D.A.N.C.E and Soulwax's Phantom Part 2. Which, for me, are both better than the original mixes.
So the album instantly grabbed me and only got better. Not one track is the same as the original mix and is either remixed by themselves or producers that are just as good. Every track is just that bit heavier. Which is, in fairness, what I think most of us want from the Parisians.
The best track on album is 'Phantom Part 2'. They start the 10 minute version of this song with a sample from 'Killing In The Name' by Rage Against The Machine' and goes into a choppy, teasier and heavier version of the Soulwax version.
For me, this was a bit of nostalgia. It made me remember exactly why I was in love with Justice for a good 4 months. And as live albums go it is not far off the perfect "Alive" from Daft Punk.

01. Intro
02. Genesis
03. Phantom Part 1
04. Phantom Part 1.5
05. D.A.N.C.E.
06. D.A.N.C.E. Part 2
07. DVNO
08. Waters Of Nazareth
09. One Minute To Midnight
10. Tthhee Ppaarrttyy
11. Let There Be Lite
12. Stress
13. We Are Your Friends (Reprises)
14. Waters Of Nazareth
15. Phantom Part 2
16. Encore
17. NY Excuse (Soulwax/Justice Remix)
18. Justice X Metallica

The film:

And the English subtitles: